Organisational structure of Faculties and Institutes



Faculties are considerably independent inside the USI organisational structure in terms of education and research. Their main structure is described in USI Statute and includes the following bodies:

  • Dean’s office

The Dean’s office is formed by the Dean and Associate Deans. The Dean, assisted by the Associate Deans, leads and manages the Faculty by implementing the decisions of the Faculty Council and the Board of Professors. The Dean represents the Faculty in the University Council.

  • The Faculty Council

The Faculty Council rules on all matters related to the Faculty’s general interest, in particular on education and research. It implements study plans and regulations, defines the search criteria for open academic positions, and appoints the Faculty representatives within the University internal and external bodies. Chaired by the Dean, the Faculty Council includes all permanent faculty (Full, Associate, Assistant, and Adjunct Professors), student representatives, and junior academic representatives (assistants, clinical Professors, Architects and Design Studio staff members, research fellows, teaching assistants and lecturers).

  • Board of Professors

The Board of Professors (also known as the restricted Faculty Council) identifies the Faculty members that are called upon to sit in a commission for the appointment of professors, assigns courses to lecturers, and proposes the awarding of Honoris Causa and Professor Emeritus. It is chaired by the Dean and includes all Tenured Professors (Full and Associate).

For specific details and peculiarities on the organisational aspects of each Faculty and Institutes and Laboratories please refer to their relative statutes:



The Steering Committee

The Steering Committee coordinates relationships among the Faculties and between Faculties and the Rectorate. It assists the Rectorate in managing the University, and it is formed by members of the Rectorate and by the Faculty Deans.


Current Deans:

Marc Collomb

Director of the Academy of Architecture

Marc Collomb (1953) is Professor at USI Academy of Architecture. He studied in Lausanne and New York (Cooper Union) and graduated from EPFL. He was guest professor at EPFL and at Pennsylvania University. He is co-owner of Atelier Cube, to which the Institut für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur of ETH Zurich dedicated an exhibition in 1997. He is the Director of the Academy of Architecture.

Personal page and contact

Mario Bianchetti

Dean of the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences

Mario Bianchetti (1949) graduated in medicine from the University of Bern in 1975, specialising later on in paediatrics and pediatric nephrology. He was Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at both St John's and St Mary's Hospitals in Bellinzona and Mendrisio (2003 – 2012), Medical Director at St John's Hospital in Bellinzona (2010-2012) and Chair of the Pediatric Department of Southern Switzerland EOC (2013-2014). After earning his Medical Doctorate (M. D.) at the University of Bern (1980), he conducted research at the same university, at the University of Geneva, at the Hôpital Necker Enfants Malades (Paris, France) and at the De Marchi Clinic (Milan, Italy). He was Assistant Professor and Professor at the University of Bern were he directed the Department of Pediatrics and Nephrology from 1997 to 2003. He is the current dean of USI Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and has been a member of the University Council since December 2014.

Personal page and contact

Andrea Rocci

Dean of the Faculty of Communication Sciences

Andrea Rocci (1970) is Full Professor at USI Faculty of Communication Sciences and Director of the Master in Financial Communication. He graduated in Modern Literature with specialisation in Social Communication from the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milan (1995). He then earned a Higher Education Degree in Linguistics at the University of Geneva (1999) and a PhD in Linguistics at the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milan (2001). In 2005, he won the position of Assistant Professor at USI and became Associate Professor in 2011 and Full Professor in 2015. He is the Dean of the Faculty of Communication Sciences.

Personal page and contact

Patrick Gagliardini

Dean of the Faculty of Economics

Patrick Gagliardini (1974) is Full Professor of Econometrics at USI Faculty of Economics. He studied at the ETH Zurich where he graduated in Physics in 1998. In January 2003, he received a PhD from USI Faculty of Economics for a thesis in Econometrics. In 2003, he was visiting fellow at the Laboratoire de Finance-Assurance of CREST (Paris) with a SNSF research grant. Between 2004 and 2006, he held an assistant professor position at the Faculty of Economics of the University of St. Gallen. From 2008 to 2012, he was Junior Chair of the Swiss Finance Institute (SFI). He is the Dean of the Faculty of Economics. 

Personal page and contact

Kai Hormann

Dean of the Faculty of Informatics

Kai Hormann (1974) is Full Professor at USI Faculty of Informatics. He received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Erlangen in 2002 and spent two years as a postdoctoral fellow researcher at Caltech in Pasadena and the CNR in Pisa, before joining Clausthal University of Technology as an Assistant Professor in 2004. During the winter term 2007/2008 he visited Freie Universität Berlin as a BMS substitute professor and came to Lugano as an Associate Professor in 2009. He is Dean of the Faculty of Informatics.

Personal page and contact



According to the USI statute, Institutes are defined as training and research units supported by one or more Faculties, subject to approval by the University Council.

The responsibilities, tasks, organisation and members of the Institutes are defined by specific agreements between the Faculties and the Rectorate. These agreements set the scope and limits within which an Institute can engage in its own right with third parties. The contract has limited duration and is renewable.

The Institutes do not have a distinct legal personality and are headed by a Director appointed among professors (Full or Associate) of the Institutes, according to the terms of agreement.