SNSF - International Co-Investigator Scheme

Research and Transfer Service

Submission deadline: 1 October 2021

Submission deadline: 1 October, 2021

The International Co-Investigator Scheme provides funding for cross-border projects by promoting and facilitating international collaboration.

This funding scheme is aimed at researchers in Switzerland whose project includes a subproject abroad. The SNSF evaluates and finances both the project and the subproject abroad.

The agreement with Denmark, Norway, Sweden and the Netherlands covers all disciplines, while the agreement with the UK is limited to the humanities and social sciences.


With the International Co-Investigator Scheme, you can apply for up to 50% of the overall project costs for your Danish, Norwegian or Swedish partners. The same applies to Swiss partners, when an application falling under the Co-Investigator Agreement is submitted to the Independent Research Fund Denmark, the Research Council of Norway, the Swedish Research Council or the Dutch Research Council. The rules in force at the relevant funding organisation apply.

Co-Investigator Scheme with the UK in the humanities and social sciences

If you wish to conduct a project in the humanities and social sciences, you can also apply for SNSF funding for subprojects in the UK. The subprojects in the UK must not exceed 30% the overall budget. Swiss subprojects are likewise funded up to a maximum of 30% by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC). The rules in force at the relevant funding organisation apply.


The International Co-Investigator Scheme is a project funding scheme. The requirements set out in Articles 4 and 5 of the Project Funding Regulations apply also to international co-applicants, i.e. they must have a minimum of 50% employment in the country concerned. The overhead costs or salary of the co-applicant abroad are not covered by the SNSF.



You can find other information on the dedicated SNSF webpage, or by contacting Ms. Janice Casarella.