Chiara Giovani 2023 Prize - open call


Institutional Communication Service

8 February 2023

The Associazione Amici di Piero Chiara is promoting a writing contest to encourage young students' linguistic and literary aptitudes. The Prize, sponsored by, among others, the Republic and Canton Ticino and Università della Svizzera italiana, is open to students, both Italian and from the Italian-speaking part of Switzerland, born between 1 January 2003 and 31 December 2008. The deadline for participation is 4 April 2023. 

Applicants are invited to produce an original, unpublished short story on the topic: "Here I am". 


Terms of participation 

Each entry must be a maximum of 6,000 typewritten characters, including spaces, and must be preceded by Name and Surname, title, 3 lines of summary and the number of characters in the text.  

Participation is online and free: connect to the web page enter personal data, and upload the story file in .doc or .docx (word) format with the following documents. 

  • photograph of the author 
  • copy of identity card 
  • for minors, the participation form completed and signed by a parent 

All entries must be received no later than Tuesday, 4 April 2023. 


A technical jury, chaired by Antonio Pascale, writer and winner of the Premio Chiara 2022, and composed of Michele Airoldi, professor at Cavalieri high school Verbania, Andrea Bianchetti lecturer at CPC Lugano and CPT Bellinzona, Cristina Boracchi, principal of Crespi high school Busto Arsizio, Davide Circello professor at Lugano 1 high school, Salvatore Consolo principal of Liceo Classico Cairoli Varese, Alessandro Guglielmi journalist Varesenews.

The volume with the finalist stories will be sent to the 150 members of the Jury of Readers of the Chiara Prize, who will vote for a story. Rankings will be formed from the preferences expressed. The first prize will be 500 euros. 

The prize-giving ceremony will take place during the Final Event of the 35th edition of the Chiara Prize on Sunday, 15 October 2023, at 5 pm in Sala Napoleonica delle Ville Ponti, Varese. 


Premio Chiara Giovani 2023 is supported by the Region of Lombardy, the patronage and support of the Republic and Canton of Ticino, Comunità di Lavoro Regio Insubrica, Fondazione AEM gruppo a2a, the Province of Varese, the municipalities of Varese, Luino, Azzate, Gallarate, Tradate, Fondazione Comunitaria del Varesotto Onlus, the Chamber of Commerce of Varese and in collaboration with the School district office of Lombardy and Varese, Fondazione del Varesotto per ambiente territorio e coesione sociale, Minoprio Foundation.