Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is one of the central institutional bodies of USI, together with the University Council and the Rectorate. The Senate acts as an advisory board and is chaired by the Rector, assisted by a Presidential Office.

It was created in December 2016 with the purpose to strengthen the unity across the academic community, by initiative of USI Rector, Prof. Boas Erez.


Structure and functions

The structure and functions of the Academic Senate are defined in the Statute of Università della Svizzera italiana (in Italian).



The operating procedures of the Academic Senate are defined in the relevant Regulation, which determines, among other things, the elections, the sessions and their conduct, and the voting mechanism.



Current members

Faculty representatives



Junior academic representatitives



Student body representatives


Staff representatives



Faculty Deans (permanent members)


Rectorate (permanent members)

  • Cristina Largader, Administrative Director (participates in the Senate sessions without voting rights)
  • Albino Zgraggen, Secretary General (partecipates in the Senate sessions without voting rights)


Presidential Office

The Presidential Office is formed, together with the Rector, by: